top of page
  • emmagillon02

MY SCHOOL JOURNEY

Updated: Feb 1, 2021


Ever since I was little I always had a want to learn a different way. I have always loved learning more hands on than anyone else. Sitting in a classroom full of people and textbooks was not for me. I wanted to go outside, play in the leaves, and study how they are made and formed. I wanted to watch the rain and learn about evaporation, and study animal tracks I found in the woods.


From 2nd to 7th grade I was enrolled in Holden Christian Academy in Holden, MA. There, I was taught how to love Jesus with all my heart while learning in a classroom doing regular school things. We participated in some hands on electives and some fun, active learning, but it just wasn't enough. I wanted to learn about what I wanted to learn about and enjoy doing it. I thought it was such a waste of life to be sitting in a classroom all day, learning about something I wouldn't need to pursue my dream of becoming a horse trainer and professional rider.


So in mid 7th grade my mom allowed me to start homeschooling with a traditional homeschooling curriculum. I got to make my own schedule, take my time and have more time to ride. When 8th grade came around I was urged to try HCA again. I tried it again, and by December I decided to officially call unschooling my new journey.


In 8th grade I started my path in alternative "unschooling". In this I learned life skills through life activities such as cooking, reading books about my passions, exploring nature, field trips to animal sanctuaries, working at an ice cream shop and being at the barn.


The barn was a crucial part in my schooling because that experience is what I needed for the rest of my life to do what I love. At the barn, I began to observe horse trainers, vets and dentists more, and was able to ask questions, and that was considered my learning. I got to ride multiple horses other than just my own to add more riding experience for future possibilities. I got to spend more time at the barn after hours to watch other lessons and observe how other trainers teach so one day I can develop my own way of teaching.


This type of learning is truly how I was meant to do school. Hands on learning is what makes me, me. I think if I was ever forced to stay in a classroom all day learning about something I'll never need in my dream job as a trainer, I would lose interest in anything I did. It gets me engaged in what I'm doing; it gets me wanting to do more; and most importantly I love it!



In early 2018, I began my journey with Pacific Sands Academy. Pacific Sands allows me to continue my unschooling and life skill learning activities, also allowing me to complete school projects centered around my passions and interests. Those projects and assignments earn me credits to graduate high school and move on to my next adventure.


Throughout my high school years with Pacific Sands, I have been able to earn credits by learning about horse health, and learn basic vet skills and techniques from reading books and observing vets at the barn I ride and work at. In the future I hope to be a professional rider and horse trainer, and learn basic life and horse skills to help me in that ambitious endeavor. In my every day life, Pacific Sands allows me to continue to have freedom and time to do the things I love, and these thing also tie into school work. Cooking, riding and working at the Ice Cream shop all have been learning experiences for me. At the ice cream shop, I practice my math skills with the register and complicated order forms, and I continue to spend time with people and improve my social skills and work ethic.



working at Rota Spring Farm earning work credits, math credit and social skills.








DON'T MISS THE FUN.

Thanks for submitting!

FOLLOW ME ELSEWHERE
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
SHOP MY LOOK
POST ARCHIVE
bottom of page